About Us

Government Science College, Chatrapur is the only government and premier college of Chatrapur sub-division. The untiring efforts of the few dedicated and enlightened souls of Chatrapur for over a decade resulted in the establishment of this college on July 8, 1969 under a private management with only Arts and Science streams. The college then made rapid strides. First Year Degree Course in Arts and pre-professional classes in Science started in 1970. It was accorded affiliation for the 2nd Year Degree Arts course during 1970-71 and the following year the college was full-fledged in Arts stream. Science classes at Degree Pass stage started in 1976-77 with 32 seats each in MPC and CBZ. Honours in Economics and Political Science started in 1977 and 1978 respectively. During 1980-81, this college recorded a significant progress in starting the Commerce stream. Same session History and Zoology honours started and from the following session, English honours.

A new era began in 1982 when the private management was taken over by the Government. Thereafter, teaching in number of Honours and the Post-Graduate Departments were introduced. This momentous event ushered in a new ray of hope and optimism with the introduction of 10+2+3 pattern in Higher Education, Odisha in 1983 and the 3-Year Degree course was introduced in 1985. Physics and Chemistry Honours started in 1989-90.

College was accorded affiliation in Commerce Degree stream in 1990-91 session. Botany Honours started in 1991-92. In 1993-94 session, Honours in Odia and Commerce and Mathematics Honours in both Arts & Science streams started. College added one more feather in its cap by opening Post-Graduation in Odia & History and was declared one of the lead colleges of Govt. of Odisha.

It started in Onslow Institution since infancy till 1980 when it had its own building. By this time, a Commerce Block, Library building and the Odia dept. Building were added. Now, Govt. has sanctioned Rs. 3.15 crore for construction of Science Block, Reading Room and an Auditorium.